Connecting e-readers to public libraries

Public libraries in Columbus, Ohio, are embracing the growing popularity of e-readers by creating displays that show clients how they can integrate the library’s digital collection with their e-readers. I think this is an excellent example of going with a trend, rather than fighting it. Given my own love of digital collections and e-readers, I hope that all public and academic libraries will follow the example set by Columbus. I know that my local library system in Halifax has a growing digital collection and is lending e-readers; I think more can be done to bring this collection front and centre to the public and to integrate it more fluidly into the mainstream catalogue and to have full bibliographic and MARC records. I certainly will be discussing the cataloguing of digital media and e-books this term, as I think it’s important that catalogue records for these media not be seen as the poor relations.

Leave a Reply

