Five Tips for Smarter Social Networking

The following link from the Harvard Business Review poses some provoking thoughts on how to make better use of the potential of social networking: Five Tips for Smarter Social Networking – John Hagel III and John Seely Brown – John Hagel III and John Seely Brown – Harvard Business Review.

I must admit that I am ambivalent about points 2 and 3:  Mix professional and personal lives and Provoke.  My Facebook and Twitter accounts were created for personal use only, although I’ve noticed that it’s very hard to continue to draw that fine line, especially when your social network friends post information about your professional life on your behalf.  The “provoke” concept is particularly troubling, as I feel an obligation to conduct myself publicly with understanding that most people who read my posts know who I am and my professional career.  I can’t help but feel that I need to remember that anything I say publicly may reflect on my employer.  I think that the ‘provoke’ advice is risky at best, since how many people have lived – or will live to – regret posts that may damage their professional careers and reputations?  Even if I remove a post, there is no telling if or how someone else chooses to use that post without my consent.

 

Leave a Reply

