Digital readers are changing the traditional library system

Digital readers are changing the traditional library system – The Globe and Mail.

This article discusses the increased popularity of e-book downloads at the Vancouver Public Library.  One of the challenging aspects, I imagine,when it comes to public perception, is why it’s necessary to place a hold on a digital copy of a book, since it does not occupy any physical space.  There has been much press lately about the high cost of e-books to libraries; it’s doubtful that the average library client realizes that in many cases, libraries can allow only one person to borrow an e-book at a time, and the fact that libraries have to keep paying publishers to make these items available, since they don’t permanently own them.  It will be interesting to see the changes in the proportion of library holdings with respect to print versus digital collections over the next 2-3 years.

2 Replies to “Digital readers are changing the traditional library system”

  1. It’s very unfortunate that people don’t read books with the same frequency as before these digital collections appeared. Well, I won’t back out on librarians. I’m a regular customer of the local library. The librarian, Yuri Mintskovsky, is always glad to see me and recommends me all the great books that he has. He’s a sweet old man and his passion for books is huge. I really love him, he’s like my grandpa.

  2. Thanks for your comment, Jessica. As a dedicated reader of e-books since 1998, I don’t think that my reading of books has changed or diminished over time; to be honest, I don’t make a distinction between a book in print or digital form, but focus on the content. I think that the role of librarians with respect to providing readers’ advisory need not change just because books are available in digital form. I see what you mean in that I don’t need to go to the library to download e-books, but with online reference on the increase, perhaps readers’ advisory will simply find another avenue.

Leave a Reply

