Napoleon envy

Turner Classic Movies news has just announced a screening of the 1927 epic, Napoleon, in San Francisco.  It would be worth the airfare to see this film again.  I saw the film when I was about 15 and was blown away. My father took me to see the film at a special showing; not the typical fare for a teenager, perhaps, but Dad, God bless him, must have known this was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for a cinephile.  Since it was so long ago since I’ve seen it, I can’t remember the specific sequences, but I do remember the use of hand-held cameras, the realistic and gut-wrenching battle scenes, the brooding presence of Napoleon, and the amazing three-screen sequences.  Seeing this film again is on my bucket list.

 

Leave a Reply

