Potato-chickpea salad

potato

Chickpeas are my favourite legumes.  I prefer to buy dry beans and legumes in bulk, as this saves a lot of packaging and chemicals.  I love potatoes, too, so this is a can’t miss combination for me.  I am also a fan of warm salads, and am  not particularly fond of lettuce-based salads, as I don’t find them filling.

Ingredients

  • Fingerling potatoes.  Yukon gold will work too, but I am very partial to fingerlings, mostly because they retain their shape well when boiled and have a thin skin.  I did not peel the potatoes, but simply scrubbed and diced them.
  • Cooked chickpeas
  • Sliced onions
  • Shredded green cabbage
  • Kalamata olives (don’t compromise on olives. Tinned olives are a blight on humanity).
  • Roasted red peppers
  • Rosemary (fresh, but dried works, too).
  • Artichoke hearts
  • Olive oil

Process

  • Boil the diced potatoes, making sure to not overcook.  I boiled for 15 minutes only, as they need to keep their shape.
  • Saute the onions and cabbage.  I like them to caramelize, so don’t use a very high heat.
  • Place all the ingredients in a salad bowl.  Season to taste.  Add the rosemary and olive oil.
  • Serve warm.  Cold leftovers taste good the next day.

 

2 Replies to “Potato-chickpea salad”

Leave a Reply

