Colcannon

2012-12-08 18.01.11

I love potatoes and cabbage, so I’m particularly fond of any dish that combines them.  I’ve modified the traditional Irish dish in that I don’t boil the cabbage; rather, I slice it thinly and saute it with onions.  In the version above, I’ve mashed both potatoes and sweet potatoes and added a little shredded Daiya cheese. This is comfort food at its best.

Ingredients

  • Diced and peeled Yukon gold potatoes.  I’m partial to Yukon gold because they retain their texture when boiled.
  • Diced and peeled sweet potato.
  • Sliced green cabbage
  • Sliced onions.  Leeks would be my choice, when available.
  • Earth Balance margarine.  Any vegan margarine could do, but Earth Balance is the best.
  • Soy milk.
  • Shredded Daiya vegan cheese.  I used Mozzarella-type this time, but Cheddar-style is good, too.
  • Salt to taste.  I don’t like pepper, but obviously, this can be added as one wishes.

Process

  • Boil the two types of potatoes. I boil for no longer than 17 minutes.
  • While the potatoes are cooking, saute the onions and cabbage.  I normally use canola oil, but if you’re feeling decadent, you could use margarine.  I saute on a low-to-medium heat to ensure the cabbage is sufficiently softened and caramelized.
  • Drain the potatoes and mash with soy milk and margarine.  Add the Daiya cheese.
  • Add the onion and cabbage mixture and mix well.  Season to taste.
Leave a Reply

