A locavore in Winter

I try to be a locavore whenever possible, and thus focus on eating seasonal fruits and vegetables.  It can be a challenge to find good varieties of fruits and vegetables in winter when you live in Canada.  I am a huge fan of farmers’ markets, and I visit the Halifax Seaport Farmers’ Market every Saturday whenever possible.  The selection is admittedly smaller, but there is still a good variety of the following locally-grown products that I like:

  • Carrots
  • Mushrooms
  • Cabbage
  • Cauliflower
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Rutabaga
  • Kale
  • Swiss chard
  • Potatoes
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Assorted winter squashes
  • Garlic
  • Onions
  • Leeks
  • Parsnips and beets (two vegetables I do not like, however).

Fruit varieties are less plentiful:  Lots of apples and pears, but not much else.  It is tempting to pick up the large variety of imported fruits available in the grocery stores, but I am trying very hard to resist, as when I think about the carbon footprint involved in transporting and importing these goods, they tend to lose their appeal.  Fortunately (or not, health wise), I don’t eat that much fruit, as I much prefer vegetables.  Here are some useful websites for Canadian locavores:

Leave a Reply

