Vegan macaroni and cheese with kale and mushrooms

DSCF1078

Ingredients (2 servings)

Sauce

  • 1 cup soymilk (I make my own, courtesy of my Soybella soymilk maker).
  • Shredded vegan cheese.  I used a combination of vegan swiss and cheddar.  As usual, I didn’t measure, but I probably had about 2 cups, as I like a rich sauce
  • Two cloves of garlic
  • ¼ cup nutritional yeast flakes
  • Bouquet garni with dried thyme. 

Vegetables

  • Sliced cremini mushrooms.  I love mushrooms, so I use a lot – about 2 cups.
  • Chopped kale
  • You can add any vegetables you like. I use asparagus in the summer, for example.

Preparation

Sauce

  1. Heat the soymilk
  2. Add the garlic gloves.  Don’t cook the garlic, as the bitter taste is too strong for this sauce.  Just squash the peeled cloves with a large knife to release the juices.
  3. Add the cheese and bouquet garni.  Season to taste.
  4. Stir until the cheese is melted.  I added about a tablespoon of flour to thicken the sauce a little.
  5. Remove the bouquet garni and blend (I use an immersion blender) to ensure the garlc is completely integrated.

While the sauce is cooking, boil your pasta. I like to use penne; the ones I used in this recipe were a multi-coloured variety (beet and spinach).

Sauté the mushrooms and kale.

Add the sauce and vegetables to the cooked pasta and bake at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

