A beautiful tribute to a feline companion

In this post, author Tom Cox discusses his special relationship with his cat The Bear; it’s a wonderful reflection on the deep bond that the two share.  Cats tend to get the short end of the stick when it comes to perceptions of the bond they share with animals.  Having lived with cats since the day I was born, I can attest to the fact that every cat with whom I’ve been fortunate enough to share my life has been loving, sociable, affectionate, and not in the least bit aloof.  My current companion was adopted when he was four years old; as it turns out he’s a pure-breed Maine Coon.  Alun has the most wonderful, gentle, and loving personality I’ve ever encountered in a cat.  Reading about The Bear made me think of Alun who also never cries for his food: He simply sits by his bowl and looks at it until I fill it.  Alun also announces when he’s about to use the litter box; doubtless so that I can clean it when he’s finished.  I know I’m being manipulated, in the gentlest of ways, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Alun
Leave a Reply

