Further thoughts about the declawing of cats

Like many other animal lovers in Nova Scotia, I was very disappointed when Nova Scotia veterinarians voted against a ban on declawing cats.  In this article, Dr. Lesley Steele, a veterinarian at a pet clinic in Eastern Passage, says there is an extensive consultation period with the owner before any declawing is done. This might be true at this clinic, but it certainly was not the case in the two separate clinics where, sadly, I had former cats declawed.  Like many people, I did not have a clear understanding of what declawing entailed; unfortunately, neither clinic discussed the procedure with me.  On the second occasion, I found out after the procedure what had been done to my cats.  I was absolutely mortified.  I was also angry and upset that the veterinarian had not discussed the procedure with me; when I called her on it, she was evasive in her response and said that she assumed that I had known.  Needless to say, I stopped frequenting this clinic.

The video below is a trailer of the film that is part of The Paw Project, which educates the public about why declawing is inhumane. Many people, including animal lovers, do not realize that declawing is a surgical procedure in which the animal’s toes are amputated at the last joint. A portion of the bone, not just the nail, is removed. Declawing may result in permanent lameness, arthritis, and other long-term complications. The website provides details about onychectomy (declawing), and its effects on cats.

 

 

Leave a Reply

