Butternut squash and chickpea soup

My love of chickpeas has been well established.  Today I will focus on another culinary love:  Butternut squash.  Truth be told, I love all types of squash, including acorn, pumpkin, buttercup, delicata, kobacha, and spaghetti.  I think you get the picture. While I love the traditional smooth butternut squash soup, I do like to add additional fibre and protein to soups whenever I can, hence the variation below.  As always, measurements are approximate, since I eyeball everything. The vegetables and chickpeas I used are organic. On another note:  I must take better pictures.

20150412_170750(2)

Ingredients

  • 4 cups of peeled, uncooked, and diced butternut squash.  You can roast the squash for a different flavour, but for this soup, I find that uncooked squash tastes better.
  • I large onion, diced
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic, diced
  • 2 cups cooked chickpeas
  • 4-5 vine-ripened tomatoes.  You can use tinned tomatoes, but I prefer to use fresh, if possible.
  • Tomato paste, if necessary.  I use the type that comes in a tube (Italian style).
  • Water
  • Salt to taste

Preparation

  1. Sautee diced onions in olive oil.
  2. When onions are translucent, add the diced garlic and cook for 1-2 minutes
  3. Add squash, tomatoes, and chickpeas.
  4. Add enough water to cover the vegetables.  Don’t add too much water, as you want a thicker consistency.  You can always add more water later.
  5. Salt and season to taste.
  6. Simmer for about 45 minutes.  If the soup needs a little more tomato flavour, add some tomato paste to taste (approximately 1 tablespoon).
  7. I used an immersion blender to partially blend the soup.  You want to retain some whole chickpeas, so don’t overdo it.
  8. This soup definitely tastes better the next day as the flavours settle.
2 Replies to “Butternut squash and chickpea soup”

Leave a Reply

