Tofu scramble – Of a sort

I love tofu.  I could easily eat tofu every day. I actually get tofu withdrawal when I travel.  I often make tofu scramble.  The version below is not a classic tofu scramble, as I used extra firm tofu, rather than the softer variety, so the term “scramble” is not accurate, but I’m using it anyway.  My scrambles vary in content, depending on what I have on hand.  The one below is a little unusual, in that it combines ingredients that are not normally associated with scrambles, but the result is delicious, nonetheless.

20150421_182440

Ingredients

  • Extra firm tofu.  I used about 1/3 of a block of President’s Choice low fat variety.
  • 1 cup chopped green cabbage
  • 1 half sliced orange bell pepper. Any bell pepper would do
  • 1 large portobello mushroom, diced. Cremini mushrooms work well, too.
  • 5-6 maddelena olives.  These Peruvian olives are very fleshy and have a wine vinegar flavour.  You can use any type of olive you like, as long it’s not the nasty type from a tin.
  • Daiya vegan cheddar shreds

Preparation

  • Saute the tofu and cabbage in olive oil until the tofu is golden and the cabbage softened
  • Add the mushrooms, pepper, and olives.  Saute until the pepper is cooked.  Season to taste.
  • Add the Daiya cheese and stir until melted.
Leave a Reply

