Lentil soup over rice and kale

After a week visiting family in Toronto for Christmas, followed by six days in Boston attending a conference, it’s nice to be back to a regular routine of home cooking.  For lunch today, I had lentil vegetable soup that I served over rice and kale, left over from last night’s dinner.  I made the soup in my new Cuisinart enamel cast iron pot, which I love.

 

12510312_1122494677760886_4694672246688568991_n

For the soup, I used:

  • I diced onion
  • 3 cloves of garlic, diced
  • 1 cup of dry brown lentils
  • 1 large tin of diced tomatoes (I like the peeled Italian variety)
  • Home-made vegetable stock (I didn’t measure, but it’s probably 4 cups)
  • An assortment of vegetables:  corn, carrots, and green beans.
  • Herbes de provence
  • Salt to taste

I served the soup over rice and kale that was left over from last night, which helps make the soup more substantial.

 

 

Leave a Reply

