Trident Booksellers, Boston.

While I was in Boston last week attending a conference, I struggled to find vegan offerings at restaurants; in fact, even vegetarian food was hard to come by.  Nearly all dishes, including salads, included either meat or fish. While I know there are a few vegetarian or vegan restaurants, none were within easy walking. I was lucky, however, to come across the Trident Booksellers & Cafe on Newbury Street. I did a double take when I saw the store, as there is a Trident Booksellers & Cafe in Halifax, although the latter sells used books, and serves only coffees and sweets.

I was very pleasantly surprised by the menu, which offered a number of vegan options for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Tofu could be substituted for  the breakfast egg dishes.  I had the Trident Bowl(with added tofu): A heaping bowl of roasted Brussels sprouts, microgreens tossed with sesame dressing, kale, beets, sweet potatoes, and chickpeas. Served over your choice of rice, farro, or Quinoa.  I can’t remember what meat-based sandwich my friend had, but she said it was excellent. The Trident Bowl was delicious and was the best meal I had in town.  The service was outstanding:  We were served our food within 15 minutes, and everything was fresh.  The service staff were friendly and helpful.

The bookstore had an excellent selection of genres and titles, too.  I will definitely visit again the next time I am in town.

 

Leave a Reply

