Chickpea, kale, and couscous soup

It is a beautiful, sunny, and cold day (-21 celcius), and perfect for a hearty soup. I had some Lacinato kale (my preferred type) in the fridge that was starting to wilt, so I thought I would combine it with chickpeas to make a soup. As the soup was cooking, I decided that I wanted it to have a little more substance, so I threw in some couscous. As usual, I didn’t measure the ingredients, so what follows below is a simple list that you can adjust as you see fit.

  • Diced onion
  • Cumin
  • Vegetable broth
  • Cooked chickpeas (I cook from dry, but tinned are fine)
  • Chopped kale (any variety will do)
  • Braggs soy sauce
  • Couscous

Because couscous cooks so quickly, I added it at the end of the cooking process. Couscous absorbs a lot of liquid, so don’t go overboard. For approximately 4 cups of broth, I added about 1 cup of couscous (I measured my hand, but I think this is close enough).  You could add garlic, but I chose not too, as this is a spice that is ofen used to excess, and which can overpower the delicate flavour of the kale and chickpeas.

 

20160115_131817.jpg

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

