Navy bean and kale soup

20160223_125634 1I needed to use up quickly a bunch of kale that was starting to wilt, and what better way to do so than via a soup. I used my electric pressure to make this soup, but it can easily be made on the stove.

Ingredients

  • 2 leeks, diced. Regular onions will work, also, but I prefer leeks
  • 1/2 cup dried navy beans, soaked. You can use prepared beans, just cut down on the cooking time for the soup.
  • 1 bunch kale, chopped. I used the standard green curly type.
  • 4 cups (or so) of vegetable stock
  • Frozen corn (I didn’t measure, so just go with what you like).
  • Crushed tomatoes. I used about 1.5 cups.
  • Dried tarragon and sage, to taste
  • Salt (and pepper, if using) to taste

Preparation

I simply put everything in the pressure cooker, put it on the soup setting, and cooked for 30 minutes. With cooked beans, I would adjust the cooking time to 10 minutes. I use the natural release method to bring the pressure down. You could saute the leeks before placing in the pressure cooker, but I had only a few minutes to prepare this soup, so I didn’t.

If cooking on the stove, then certainly saute the leeks. Cook until the beans are cooked to your liking.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

