Broccoli, cabbage, and chickpea soup

Unfortunately, I deleted the picture I had taken of this soup, so I can include only text. I made this soup to use up some vegetables that had started to go soft. It allowed me also to use up some aquafaba that I had in the fridge, as I find it makes for a good substitute for vegetable broth.

Ingredients

  • Broccoli: I used about 1/2 of a head of broccoli, as this is all I had left
  • Cabbage: Also 1/2 head of cabbage
  • I leek, diced
  • 1 tbsp Olive oil
  • Herbes de Provenc
  • 1 litre of aquafaba (the cooking liquid of the chickpeas)
  • 1 cup of cooked chickpeas

Method

  • Saute the diced leek, cabbage, and broccoli in the olive oil. Add the herbs towards the end.
  • Add the aquafaba, and season to taste. I like thicker soups, so I use enough aquafaba to cover the vegetables. You can always add more liquid after you blend the vegetables, but don’t add too much at first.
  • When the vegetables are softened, blend the soup. I did not blend too finely, as I like the occasional chunk of vegetable.
  • Add the chickpeas.
Leave a Reply

