Red beans and rice

I first had red beans and rice in New Orleans. I love legumes, and this is an easy and nutritious meal to prepare. My version is not spicy, as I don’t have a high tolerance for spicy foods, but you can always add as much heat as you like, e.g., cayenne pepper, hot sauce, and so forth.

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups cooked red kidney beans. I cook mine from dry, but tinned are fine.
  • 28 oz. tin of tomatoes. I used only half the tin. I  use peeled San Marzano tomatoes, as they are far tastier than the standard tinned variety.
  • I sweet pepper, finely chopped. I used a red one for the colour
  • 1 onion, finely diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • Salt to taste

Instructions

  1. Saute the onions and peppers. Add the garlic when the vegetables have softenened.
  2. In a blender or food processor (I used my Vitamix), chop half the beans and the tinned tomatoes (remember use only half a tin).
  3. Add the blended beans, the remaining whole beans, and the herbs and salt to the cooked vegetables.
  4. Simmer on low for about 30 minutes.  Stir often, as the mixture will thicken and might stick to the pot.

20160526_145949Serve over warm cooked rice.  I used brown.

20160526_172426

 

Leave a Reply

