Thirteen things that annoy vegans

This post discusses 13 things that annoy vegans;  it’s written in good fun but it is, in fact, based on the reality we face every day. I’ve been vegan so long that there isn’t anything I haven’t heard or encountered. Most people who know me accept who I am and don’t make a fuss, thank goodness, but I still encounter a few. Some people, for example, seem to constantly look for ways to trap me; for example, they will see me eating a chocolate and ask “is that vegan?”, as though they are hoping to find me “cheating.” Or they proceed to go through the menu in a restaurant to point out what I can eat. Um, I have a number of graduate degrees; I think that reading a menu is within my skill set. Yes, I realize that this is often meant well, but it’s always funny to think about how concerned people become about the state of my health, even though it should be obvious to anyone that if I’m still alive after 30 years of veganism, it’s safe to assume that my I’ve passed that test. I have to resist my very broad streak of sarcasm and not respond with “and where do you get you vitamins and minerals?” when I’m asked from where I get my protein. I try to be gracious as much as possible, of course, as no one likes a preachy or aggressive vegan, and I am Canadian after all, but the urge is there.

Leave a Reply

