Elate Cosmetics

Update: I’ve now used the Elate mascara and am pleased with the results. Unlike a number of other vegan mascaras I have used, this one is not wet and sticky, and stays on all day without sticking. It’s a keeper.

While I make all of my household cleaning products, and most of my personal care products, cosmetics are items I still buy. I have been using mineral makeup for at least 15 years and have gone through a number of different brands. It’s important that the products I use be made in Canada; they must also be vegan, of course, and create as little waste as possible. I had been using products made in Nova Scotia but, to be honest, the quality of their minerals was not as high as I would have liked. I very much like the ZuZu Luxe products, but they are made in the US. An attractive feature of these products is that they do use refillable products (unfortunately, refills are not sold in the local stores here), but they do use a lot of plastic.

I am pleased to have found a Canadian brand that not only uses refillable products, but also bamboo for its containers, rather than plastic. Elate Cosmetics is based in Victoria, BC. Their products are vegan and mineral based. They sell bamboo containers for their makeup, which you refill with powder, eye shadow, and so forth. The mascara is not refillable, but it does come in a bamboo container. The products were shipped in the smallest possible box, encased in tissue paper, and held in place with some recyclable packing peanuts, which double also as my cats’ new favourite toy. The products came with a lovely hand-written note from the owner.

The picture on the left shows the bamboo container filled with the foundation powder, which came in the small paper package to the left of the compact. The tube is the mascara, also in bamboo. The picture on the right shows the top of the compact. I was a little alarmed when I saw the colour of the powder, as it looked too dark for me, given pale and fair skin. The colour does not go on as dark as it looks, and it works quite well for me, but I will go up a lighter tone next time. This particular shade is described as fair, with warm tones, and looks lighter on the website. Next time I will select the shade up, which is for very fair skin with neutral undertones. The powder goes on well and gives the matte look that I like. My skin is delicate in nature, but I have not experienced any reactions to the powder so far. I haven’t tried the mascara yet. I have not had much luck with vegan mascaras, as I’ve found most of them to be very sticky, so I’m crossing my fingers. I will update once I use it.

Leave a Reply

